鶹ýƵ

 

Home / News / Parent Announcements / Letter to Parents – Wodonga Road Incident

 

Dear Parents and Carers,

As you may be aware, a local community member was tragically killed in a road accident whilst undertaking their role as a crossing guard in the Wodonga area close to our school. We are informing you of this event so that you may speak with your child about this tragic death, as it is in our local media and some of our students may have had regular interactions with the person involved.

Although your children may be affected by the death of this person, it would be best for school routine to continue as normally as possible and students should continue to attend regularly. Reactions of community members will vary and may include crying, not wanting to talk about their feelings about this tragic loss or wanting to discuss it, wanting to be alone, experiencing difficulty in concentrating and in sleeping. It is common for students of this age to want to be with their friends when faced with such challenging experiences.

Attached is an information sheet that identifies common reactions and ways in which you can support your child during difficult times.

Should you or your child feel the need for professional help or additional support, the following organisations can be accessed:

  • LifeLine 13 11 14
  • Gateway Health
  • General Counselling services
    • Wodonga 02 6022 8888
    • Wangaratta 03 5723 2000
    • Myrtleford 03 5731 3500
  • Head to Health support 1800 595 212
  • Beyond Blue

Additional resources

Alternatively, please contact me or the student wellbeing coordinator, Lana Melbourne who will be able to assist you. The Department psychologists and social work team are available to provide support if required, if you would like to meet with the psychologist/social worker contact can be made through the student wellbeing coordinator or on 02 6043 7500.

Yours sincerely,
Vern Hilditch
Executive Principal

 

Share This

 
 
 

Upcoming Events

Term 2 - Week 5 - Monday 13th May
Staff Meeting
Tuesday 14th May Location: Lecture theatre
Careers Expo
Wednesday 15th May to Thursday 16th May Location: Stadium
PLC Meetings
Wednesday 15th May
Careers Expo Unit 3/4 Classes
Thursday 16th May Location: Stadium
careers Expo Unit 1/2 and Yr 10 classes
Thursday 16th May Location: Stadium
SSV State Senior Volleyball
Friday 17th May Location: Dandenong
Term 2 - Week 6 - Monday 20th May
Upper Hume Cross Country
Monday 20th May Location: Dederang
Attitudes to School Survey
Monday 20th May Location: Class rooms
LA Leaders Meeting
Monday 20th May
Staff Meeting
Tuesday 21st May Location: Lecture theatre
PLC Meetings
Wednesday 22nd May
Evacuation Drill
Thursday 23rd May
Mid Year Exams
Friday 24th May to Friday 31st May Location: WSSC
Term 2 - Week 7 - Monday 27th May
Upper Hume Senior Basketball
Tuesday 28th May Location: WSLC
Upper Hume Senior Soccer
Tuesday 28th May Location: Wodonga
Staff Meeting
Tuesday 28th May Location: Lecture theatre
PLC Meetings
Wednesday 29th May
Upper Hume Year 10 Soccer
Thursday 30th May Location: Wodonga
OHS Commitee Meeting
Thursday 30th May
Term 2 - Week 8 - Monday 3rd June
Mabo Day
Monday 3rd June
Start Unit 2 & 4
Monday 3rd June
Upper Hume Girls Badminton
Monday 3rd June Location: Wodonga
LA Leaders Meeting
Monday 3rd June
House Assembly
Tuesday 4th June
Staff Meeting
Tuesday 4th June Location: Lecture theatre
Year 11 and 12 Assembly
Wednesday 5th June
K2S: Future Planning YELLOW
Wednesday 5th June Location: Lecture Theater
PLC Meetings
Wednesday 5th June
The Wodonga Project free BBQ
Thursday 6th June
Wodonga Project Survey
Thursday 6th June
Term 2 - Week 9 - Tuesday 11th June
Kings Birthday Holiday
Monday 10th June
Staff Meeting
Tuesday 11th June Location: Lecture theatre
WSSC College Council
Tuesday 11th June Location: Boardroom
K2S: Subject selections YELLOW
Wednesday 12th June Location: Lecture Theater
PLC Meetings
Wednesday 12th June
Term 2 - Week 10 - Monday 17th June
LA Leaders Meeting
Monday 17th June
GAT
Tuesday 18th June
Staff Meeting
Tuesday 18th June Location: Lecture theatre
PLC Meetings
Wednesday 19th June
Hume Region Cross Country
Friday 21st June Location: Benalla
Term 2 - Week 11 - Monday 24th June
Unit 3 SAC/SAT
Tuesday 25th June Location: WSSC
Staff Meeting
Tuesday 25th June Location: Lecture theatre
Legal Studies SAC - Unit 4 - Outcome 1
Wednesday 26th June Location: Galvin Hall
PLC Meetings
Wednesday 26th June