鶹ýƵ

 

Home / News / Student Announcements / University Early Start with CHES

 

We would like to congratulate two of our students, Savannah Clarke and Clare Martinac, who have been successful in their applications to undertake first-year university subjects in 2024, via the Centre for Higher Education Studies (CHES). While completing Year 12, Savannah will study Psychology with The University of Melbourne and Clare will study Sustainable Development and Innovation Ecosystems with RMIT. The students were accepted based upon their academic achievements to-date and the high level of commitment they have demonstrated towards their studies.


2024 Year 12 student Savannah Clarke pictured above in the WSSC Study Centre.

CHES offers an exciting head-start into university studies for high-ability students across Victoria. The Centre specialises in Higher Education Studies (HES), which are first-year university subjects, that allow students to potentially gain ATAR points and university credits while completing their VCE studies. Students who undertake a HES or a VCE subject at CHES also have access to the CHES Student Enrichment Series, which includes extension workshops, masterclasses, seminars and mentoring with university students and academics. There is no cost to the students for their participation in this program.

Applications for Year 12 students wishing to study a HES in 2024 have now closed, but applications for 2025 will open in July 2024. The School will email parents/guardians and students advising them of the date by which applications must be received and the dates and times of the live, online information sessions which will be run by CHES.

If you have any questions about the CHES programs for high-ability students, please contact Sam Leary via sleary@wssc.vic.edu.au

 

Share This

 
 
 

Upcoming Events

Term 2 - Week 1 - Monday 15th April
SSV State Swimming
Friday 19th April Location: South Melbourne
Term 2 - Week 2 - Monday 22nd April
LA Leaders Meeting
Monday 22nd April
Combined ANZAC Day Ceremony
Tuesday 23rd April Location: WSSC Oval
Staff Meeting
Tuesday 23rd April Location: Lecture theatre
PLC Meetings
Wednesday 24th April
ANZAC Day
Thursday 25th April
Term 2 - Week 3 - Monday 29th April
Upper Hume Year 10 Boys AFL
Tuesday 30th April Location: Wangaratta Barr Reserve
Upper Senior Table Tennis
Tuesday 30th April Location: Wangaratta Table Tennis Centre
Staff Meeting
Tuesday 30th April Location: Lecture theatre
Hume Region Senior Volleyball
Wednesday 1st May Location: Albury
PLC Meetings
Wednesday 1st May
Term 2 - Week 4 - Monday 6th May
LA Leaders Meeting
Monday 6th May
House Assembly
Tuesday 7th May
Staff Meeting
Tuesday 7th May Location: Lecture theatre
PLC Meetings
Wednesday 8th May
Parent Teacher Interview 2
Thursday 9th May Location: WSSC
Kerry Jewell talk
Friday 10th May Location: lecture theatre
Term 2 - Week 5 - Monday 13th May
Smashed
Monday 13th May
Staff Meeting
Tuesday 14th May Location: Lecture theatre
Careers Expo
Wednesday 15th May to Thursday 16th May Location: Stadium
PLC Meetings
Wednesday 15th May
SSV State Senior Volleyball
Friday 17th May Location: Dandenong
Term 2 - Week 6 - Monday 20th May
Upper Hume Cross Country
Monday 20th May Location: Dederang
LA Leaders Meeting
Monday 20th May
Staff Meeting
Tuesday 21st May Location: Lecture theatre
PLC Meetings
Wednesday 22nd May
Mid Year Exams
Friday 24th May to Friday 31st May Location: WSSC
Term 2 - Week 7 - Monday 27th May
Upper Hume Senior Basketball
Tuesday 28th May Location: WSLC
Upper Hume Senior Soccer
Tuesday 28th May Location: Wodonga
Staff Meeting
Tuesday 28th May Location: Lecture theatre
Year 11 and 12 Assembly
Wednesday 29th May
PLC Meetings
Wednesday 29th May
Upper Hume Year 10 Soccer
Thursday 30th May Location: Wodonga
OHS Commitee Meeting
Thursday 30th May
Term 2 - Week 8 - Monday 3rd June
Mabo Day
Monday 3rd June
Start Unit 2 & 4
Monday 3rd June
Upper Hume Girls Badminton
Monday 3rd June Location: Wodonga
LA Leaders Meeting
Monday 3rd June
House Assembly
Tuesday 4th June
Staff Meeting
Tuesday 4th June Location: Lecture theatre
K2S: Future Planning YELLOW
Wednesday 5th June Location: Lecture Theater
PLC Meetings
Wednesday 5th June